Transylvania’s Music Community Comes Together for Family Weekend


On Friday, October 21st, the Transylvania Orchestra, Choir, and Concert Band joined forces for the annual Family Weekend Concert. The concert, which was held in Haggin Auditorium, had nearly a full-capacity audience filling the space. Students, friends, and family alike all showed up to support the musical arts of Transy.

The orchestra played beautifully, led by concertmaster Zoe Miller (‘25) on violin. The choir filled the room with beautiful harmonies and satisfying dissonance, and Em Spencer’s (‘24) solo gave me chills. The concert band blended perfectly and created a robust and coherent sound.

The next Fall recital will take place on Sunday, November 6th at 3 P.M in Carrick Theater, featuring Yukiko Fujimura performing a guest piano recital. The first General Student Recital is on Thursday, November 17th at 12:30 pm in Carrick Theater as well. Tickets for admission are free to both events.

Concert Program

The Chamber Orchestra

  • Charterhouse Suite (1920/23) : Ralph Vaughan-Williams (1872-1958); Orch. James Brown
    • Prelude
    • Slow Dance
    • Quick Dance
  • Four Songs for Strings: Franz Schubert (1797-1828); Arr. Cliff Colnot
    • I. Der Jäger (“The Hunter,” from Die Schöne Müllerin, 1823)
    • II. Gefrorne Tränen (“Frozen Tears,” from Die Winterreise, 1828)
    • IV. Abschied (“Farewell,” from Schwanengesang, op. post.)

Transylvania Singers

  • In te Speravi: Christi Jones
  • Liebst du um Schönheit: Clara Schumann (1819-1896)
  • Plena: Diana V. Sáez
  • Where the Light Begins: Susan Labarr

Transylvania Choir

  • Excerpts from Requiem: Gabriel Faurè (1845-1924). Ben Sexton, Violin
    • Sanctus
    • In Paradisum
  • Wakati wa Amani: Sally K. Albrecht
  • There was a Time: Elaine Hagenberg 
  • Circa Mea: Mark Burrows. Heather Chaudoin, Cajon
  • Hail Transylvania: Alexis T. Lwoff, music; W.C. Callum, Class of 1909, lyrics. 

The Concert Band

  • Radetzky March (Opp.228, 1848): Johann Strauss, Sr. (1804-1849); Arr. Larry Clark
  • Andelied (“Evening Song,” Op. 69/3, 1855): Josef Rheinberger (1821-1898); Arr. Shelley Hanson
  • Contraption (2018): Adrian B. Sims (b. 2000)
Previous articleAn Interview with SGA President Tate Ohmer
Next articleTransylvania History: The Story of “Rafy,” the Bat
My name is Isa and this year I’m an editor for The Rambler! I’m a junior and a WRC major and a political science minor. I’m originally from Houston, TX (yee haw) but moved to Lexington when I started college. I’m in Phi Mu and my favorite book right now is “This is How You Lose the Time War” by Amal El-Mohtar.